Whew, I am back to work at all 3 of my jobs. It is a good thing really, I still have at least 1 day off a week and there is only one day where I am out and about for work for 13 hours.  (okay so one week a month I’ll have 2 days with 13 hours but it could still be a lot worse).

Here is some of my spinning progress, I promise there is progress between the two bobbins, lol.  Spinning fine is taking a lot more patience than I thought it would.  I cannot tell you how many times I’ve wanted to switch my bobbins out for an empty one so that I can ply up some of the singles I have sitting around.  I’ve resisted!  I will prevail!  When I am done with these singles and have them wound onto bobbins then I will treat myself to some plying of other singles that have been resting for a while.

You’re probably wondering why I have to wind these singles, and to clarify both of these pictures are the same bobbin so I only have one bobbin of singles, onto other bobbins.  Well it is simple and complicated at the same time.  The bobbins that I will be winding onto are weaving bobbins, like the little ones in the bottom left of this picture:

img_0863

I have more weaving bobbins right now so it is more efficient to wind them onto these bobbins.  Why?

1. Since I tend to differ in thickness of spinning from one session to the next, no matter how hard I try, transferring my spinning onto bobbins gives me a chance to even these changes out over longer periods creating a more even yarn overall.

2. Since I am spinning long color changes transferring these singles onto smaller bobbins allows me greater control of how those color changes will occur, Will I ply 2 dark sections together? Allow them to ply as they like causing a bit of chaos?  Deliberately ply only dark with light, and similar decisions?  By separating them out I gain more control over my colors.

3. Since I only have 3 true ‘Schacht’ bobbins I have to use them sparingly and reuse them as often as I can.  Currently one is housing some silk that I have yet to finish spinning (that is my ‘treat’ spinning, I love it); another is empty; and this is the third that I am spinning the blues away on.

I hope that this post was illuminating and not confusing.

Happy Crafting!

