The Paint stripper works really well.  I did find out that I need to use steel wool to scrape the paint off and it will probably take me a couple of coats to get the little remains off, but this is much better than taking months to get a few little sections done.  The fun part of stripping the loom and getting everything reworked is that I am getting to know my loom much better.  This is very good, I know where the beater brakes are now and how that works, but it also allowed me to discover a potential problem.  As you can see in the photo above the wood by my pedals is starting to split, ack!  I am hoping that something like gorilla glue will keep it together for a good long time.  If I am able to get the glue in deep enough it should hold together.  The last two pedals are not happy if they are asked to move independently from each other, this could cause problems in the future.  Hopefully some rust remover will help them move independently.  I am also concerned about the reed, but that is the easiest fix (though a little expensive).  If the rust remover does not work for the reed then I can purchase another reed, in stainless steel this time.

Happy Crafting!

