Ever since I got my spinning wheel I have been spinning like a madwoman.  Prior to this I had purchased a variety of fibers from various sources, many from etsy, to try out different fibers.  One of the sources that I purchased little quarter ounce bags of various colors from was The Ross Farm.  They are a farm trying to preserve rare breeds of sheep, an amazing aspiration that I am happy my purchase went toward.  I bought some of the roving from the Chevoit’s they raise.

The colors were rich and beautiful, the hand was rough with short fibers.  If you like spinning and are good at spinning cotton then this is a great fiber for you to spin, if you want to get to know how to spin cotton then start with Cheviot.  I decided to use this fiber to practice my carding, I blended it with some Corriedale I purchased during the last Spinzilla sale.  The results were these beautiful cottony clouds, mom says they look like cotton candy.  They really do, they also spin up like cotton candy.

I had created about 9 rolags or rologs, and then spun 3 rolags onto each of 3 bobbins.  The picture about is from when I took a break, the resulting singles are just beautiful.  I cannot wait to ply them.  Unfortunately wait I must, not only because I already have another project on my bobbins, but because the singles need to rest a bit before I try plying.  I still have a few pieces of this Chevoit that I cannot wait to card up to spin another day.  Now that my leg has healed from my first attempts at carding (Always wear jeans or have a tough cloth on your leg when you are carding, ouch!).

Happy Spinning!

