Crochet with scales 1

Chainmaille has always been something that I have been interested in.  The thought of using metal rings to create something that can deflect swords or in modern times sharks has held a lot of appeal.  The reality of chainmaille, however, is neither romantic or simple.  I understand the concepts of creating a 4-1 pattern, what I am unable to do is to get those little scales to hold still while I try and get the next ring onto the first two without messing up the order that they are supposed to be in, not to mention getting those darned cut ends to line up without over-twisting and snapping the scale.  (Can you tell I became very frustrated with this craft?).

So a few years ago I gave up on it altogether.  I still read about a few patterns, and considered how I might use closed rings, sort of like washers, to add a new element to crafting, but I pretty much gave up on it.

Imagine my delight when I saw a pattern to crochet scale-maille onto a glove!  I had a blast thinking about the applications, then I found out that they are now making plastic scales so I do not have to worry about abrasive edges, weight, or expense (so much, they aren’t cheap but they aren’t cost prohibitive either.)  My imagination went wild!  I only got as far as these wristlets but I am thinking about fingerless gloves, sleeves, they might make neat anklets for the summer, a vest, a sweater, a cowl, a tail,  the possibilities are endless.

So this is my exciting news, for those of you that want to think about incorporating them into your own work I found that you want to put 1 scale every other row, and every other stitch.  Any closer and they will not lay right.

Crochet with scales 2

Happy Crafting!

