IMG_0304

Remember how I told you I was going to get a spindolyn?  Well I accidentally lied to you.  I meant to get one, I really did.  Then I started reading some materials about how you can spin from the fold…well I tried it and I wound up being able to spin my silk!  I am very excited.  It is a very simple technique, if you fold a section of the fiber over your finger then gently draft from that folded place the fibers are not all in the same direction. This means that they don’t just slip apart like they were doing for me.  I have managed to spin an extremely fine yarn from this, probably to be plied with another thread at some time.  I am almost thinking of a three or four ply with this single, but that is for a day far in the future.  Hopefully I will get a Spindolyn in the future, but for now it is on the back burner.

